LTAC to ArtPrize from SaboPR on Vimeo.

LTAC Arts Announces 2017 Winners, DeVos Place Venue for ArtPrize

Elaine Hoogeboom, Phillip M. Siegel, Wesley DeVries and Jodie Dilno are the 2017 Legacy Trust Award Collection winners and will have their work showcased at DeVos Place during ArtPrize, which starts Sept. 20.

A record 141 artists with disabilities from around the state submitted their work to this year’s art competition. The four winners were picked by a panel of celebrity judges, who chose one of the LTAC winners; the public, who chose two; and the LTAC Advisory Committee, who presented the Lillian Perry Walker Award, an award created for the young woman who inspired the formation of LTAC in 2010.

This year’s winners are:

  • Elaine Hoogeboom, popular vote winner for So Good, has won the LTAC popular vote three other times. Hoogeboom is inspired by people and animals who have played a significant role in her life. So Good is a watercolor pencil, hyperrealism painting of her grandson. Vote code: 66434
  • Phillip M. Siegel, popular vote winner for Proud Parent – Giraffe, used acrylic to create the painting. With a 30-year career in graphic art, Siegel uses his technical skills and love of nature to depict animals and raise awareness for endangered species. Vote code: 66310
  • Wesley DeVries, judges’ winner for Outdoor Night Light, created his piece using acrylic paint and a credit card. DeVries’ abstract impressionist paintings are inspired by the shapes, colors and compositions he finds in photographs. Vote code: 66308
  • Jodie Dilno, Lillian Perry Walker award winner for A Quiet Evening, was inspired by the architecture of downtown Grand Rapids. Dilno will often travel with a camera to capture real-life images with linear details, reflections and shadows from which to paint. Dilno took art classes at Kellogg Community College but didn’t start painting until 2015. Vote code: 66431

Video interviews with the artists are available here.

Legacy Trust Award Collection is open to all Michigan adult artist with disabilities. Artists from around the state submit pieces, including paintings, sculptures, photographs, drawings, collages, mixed media and other works of art.

LTAC is sponsored by Legacy Trust, Meijer, Sabo PR, Kantorwassink, Kitchen Sage, GRAM, DeVos Place and Andrews, Hooper & Pavlik.

For more information on LTAC and its art competition, please visit